Maintenance mode for warming up your petrol engine.

Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum

Help Support Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trex

Hi,

After nearly a year with my Phev ( 1 year old in 2 weeks) I have finally found a way of warming up the petrol motor easily before driving on the freeway here in Australia.

My situation is I live about 2kms from our freeway on ramp to travel to other towns, cities etc which are all out of Ev range ie petrol motor will be used.

Now as a engineer I hate having the petrol motor coming on cold, and oil pressure at zero , at 110kph and suddenly be needed to rev at approx 2900rpm and take the loads of the Phev at that speed. Even worse is the Petrol motor at 4500rpm in Serial mode when merging with traffic at the on ramp. So I have been trying to find a way of warming up the Phev in our 60kph zones before taking to the highway.

So how have I been doing this? By driving around, when the Hv battery is full, in the 60kph zones around town here, for 5kms so I can get the Petrol motor to start using the save or charge button. The Phevs Petrol motor will not start (with charge or save buttons) unless the Hv battery is 86% or less. Remember I am about 2kms from the on ramp. So at least 3kms of stuffing around so I can get petrol motor to start so it is at least a little warmed before using on the highway.

Well not anymore. :D Thanks to a little section in the Dutch written pdf that forum member anko sent me that says:

Starten benzinemotor
Ready inschakelen en daarna de chargeknop 10 seconden lang ingedrukt
houden, nu draait de motor onbelast stationair.

Which translated with Bing translator says:

Start petrol engine
Enable ready and then the charge button 10 seconds
keep, now running the unloaded motor idle.