Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum

It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2019 1:46 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Heating Problems
PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 2:12 am 

Hi all,

I'm a proud new owner of a 2014 Gh4s, great car but the heating doesn't work at all, not from the engine or electric heater. :?:

I'm getting the garage to look at it but thought I'd ask around to see if anyone has had the same problem or could give me an idea of what's going on so I have some more knowledge for when I'm going back and forth with them!

Thanks,

James

Post subject: Re: Heating Problems
PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:16 am 

My understanding is that there is a pump within the heating/cooling system that circulates coolant around the car either from the engine or electric heater. This pump has been reported to fail.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 6:47 am 

Thanks, that's good to know, I thought it could be the thermostat but if the electric heater isn't working either then it sound more likely to be the pump.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2019 8:26 am 

Coolant filter in the four way valve clogs with scale and is the usual cause of the problem. If you have the patience you can take it out, clean and put back. A Mitsi' garage would normally replace the whole valve assembly but only once they have worked out the cause (won't show up on their MUT3 diagnostic kit) or they have come across it previously. It takes even more patience to bleed the system afterwards so stick a few bungs in your pocket if you have a go.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 10:01 am 

Thanks for the info and advice. Good to know for the future. In my case it turned out to be a crushed coolant line under the vehicle. It looks like it may have been from a misplaced hoist pad. I suspect it was done during the safety inspection prior to buying the vehicle, I just don't know how to prove it...

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 1:36 pm