Battery Life and Cost of Replacement

Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum

Help Support Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

apyds

Complete newbie on PHEV cars here but seriously considering holding off on purchasing a car until the release of the Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV in the UK (which I understand is going to be towards the latter part of this year).

However, I have been wondering about the battery life on these cars. My understanding and experience (from items such as my mobile phone and tablet) of Lithium Ion batteries is that the more frequently they are used, the less power they will hold and the more frequently you will have to charge them. At some point they will hold so little power that they will have to be replaced. Is that correct and does it equally apply to the Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV battery?

If so, how much are people guessing that a replacement battery is going to cost on one of these cars and how frequently will they have to be changed?

apyds said:
Complete newbie on PHEV cars here but seriously considering holding off on purchasing a car until the release of the Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV in the UK (which I understand is going to be towards the latter part of this year).

However, I have been wondering about the battery life on these cars. My understanding and experience (from items such as my mobile phone and tablet) of Lithium Ion batteries is that the more frequently they are used, the less power they will hold and the more frequently you will have to charge them. At some point they will hold so little power that they will have to be replaced. Is that correct and does it equally apply to the Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV battery?

If so, how much are people guessing that a replacement battery is going to cost on one of these cars and how frequently will they have to be changed?