Any way to check battery on a test drive?

Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum

Help Support Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ThudnBlundr

Noob here. I have searched through several pages of posts for an answer, but apologies if it's been asked before

We're looking to buy a PHEV, but it's likely to be a 2015 model with 30-40k miles. I've looked at a couple on regular forecourts and the batteries are almost always near flat, so it's impossible to get an idea of range. Even if they have a charging point, they're seldom at capacity. Is there any way to check the traction battery SOH while looking round the car or on a test drive. I gather that there are apps linking to an ODB2 port - I have something similar for my Zoe - but I'm not sure how keen the salesman would be for me to plug it in! Is there another way to get a reading without going to a main dealer?

No, there is not, apart from a full analysis by the OBD2 port or - even better -, a battery condition check by a dealer. Even if the car is fully charged, the display on the instrument panel is totally unreliable. With half an hour's drive I can get mine to display anything between 20 and 60 km.

I would not buy a used PHEV without a recent battery condition report from a Mitsubishi dealer. If it is refused, walk away.

Do make sure the car has been dealer-maintained. If it has been serviced by a non-authorized dealer, or, worse, DIY, the requisite updates and factory checks will not have been carried out.

Thanks Jaapv. I guessed as much, but was hoping for some way of finding out. A problem I'm finding is that there aren't enough non-GX3h models around, so dealers don't have to worry too much about me walking away.

Maybe I should look at the apps and take along my WiFi ODB2 connection...