Space Saver Options

Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum

Help Support Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vijay

Hi,

Newbie here driving a '14 plate G4 for about a year.

This afternoon, we had just set off on a long run when we had the dreaded 'Click, Click, Click ... Bang' followed by the Tyre Pressure light.

Managed to pull over safely and identified a flat tyre with a rather large hole in the middle of the tread. There was no way the gunk was going to fix that so opted for RAC call out (fantastic service!) and local puncture repair. Two hours later, travel plans cancelled and back home.

Which brings me to the question of Space Saver wheels. I noticed a lot of old threads here about picking up smaller rims with larger tyres with associated impacts on boot space. However, I came across these guys and was wondering if anyone has used them before and if the product is worth the £170 spend...?

https://www.thewheelshop.co.uk/space-saver-wheels/mitshubishi/mitshubishi-outlander

Alternate options/suggestions would be appreciated.

Thxs

Welcome, Vijay. Those would do the trick, but they do take up a fair bit of boot space. I've got one, and even though they're space-savers, they're still quite large when they're in the back!

When I go on long journeys I actually take a spare 225/55R18 Toyo R37 tyre with me. Just the tyre, not on a wheel. Not especially helpful in the short term perhaps but by my estimation it's usually possible to get a tyre changed - presumably even by the roadside with a breakdown recovery service. R37s are very hard to get hold of at short notice. You can store quite a bit of stuff inside it to. I cleaned my part worn tyre thoroughly and wrapped it in clingfilm. I secure it using ratchet tiedowns via the four 'hooks' provided in the boot area, as I do any heavy luggage too.