Cycle carrier on the boot/trunk

Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum

Help Support Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hvaghela

Hi everyone.

With summer (in the UK) coming around and my son (5) really getting into his cycling. My wife and I are getting ourselves a couple of bikes. We have a 2016 PHEV, and looking for a boot/trunk mounted cycle carrier. It has to be boot mounted as we don’t have a towbar and a roof rack is out as my wife is not tall or strong enough to get her bike up there (in my absence). I popped into Halfords (a nationwide cycle/motor store) they said they don’t have anything to fit my outlander.

Some online searches have been unhelpful but Thule look like they make some good ones. But will it fit safely?

Anyone have any experience with this. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance. Herbie

I have no experience with this kind of bike carrier as my outlander has a towbar and I own a thule system for two bikes.
Thule has good reputation but you can find other models of boot bike carriers fitting your car like those one: https://www.rameder.eu/bike-carrier/bike-carrier-tailgate/mitsubishi/outlander-iii/

Thanks mbriex for the input. I’ve checked out the site, unfortunately the Thule only holds 2 bikes. It is however an option.

Brill
Just ordered the Saris Bones 3 from Halfords online. Will pick it up tomorrow and try it out. I'll try and post a pic when its up.

Tried it on today, a bit fiddly but looks secure. Going out on a ride with the family this weekend. I'll see how it gets on with the bikes in place.

40898373543_be41be65e9_n.jpg

Had a family day out today with the bikes - the Saris bones 3 works well. I would recommend it.

andywil said:
Looks good but your number plate is obscured so you risk a fine and points on your licence.