Wheel alignment and Spare Wheel Use

Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum

Help Support Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mitsyphev

Hi. I'm new to this forum. I have had a new Outlander PHEV for 3 weeks now and I'm still learning how to get the best out of it.
I have two questions that someone might be able to help me with.
Firstly, after two weeks of driving, whilst on a straight road, I noticed that the steering while was no longer aligned. I checked tyres pressures and they were OK so I took it to a local tyre fitter who checked alignment. He said that the thrust was out and adjusted it. This corrected the misalignment of the steering wheel, but what could cause this over such a low mileage?
As I understand it, a thrust adjustment is to realign the two axles/front and back wheels.

My second question is about using a spare wheel. Has anyone done any significant distance with a spare wheel fitted. The manual says, on page 11-11, that if you do not use tyres of the same type and with the same degree of wear, the differential oil will get too hot and failure could occur! Does this rule out the use of a new, spare tyre after you have down several thousand miles on your fitted tyres. Also, does failure of a tyre mean that you aleays have to replace both tyres on one axle/set?
Feedback would be much appreciated. Thanks.

What Spare Wheel!

I didn't think they came with one, just a repair kit and inflator/compressor.

As for the alignment I would get the garage (Mitsubishi) to check it, as I have found in the past not all tyre fitting places are up to date with the latest information.

Sharky said:
What Spare Wheel!

I didn't think they came with one, just a repair kit and inflator/compressor.

As for the alignment I would get the garage (Mitsubishi) to check it, as I have found in the past not all tyre fitting places are up to date with the latest information.