sipaldi

cannot connect phone app

Tue Feb 25, 2020 1:30 am

Hi All,
Trying to connect my android S9 to a MY19 and keep getting the error 2021 message. Any ideas anyone?

I have the car in accessory mode, door closed, keyfob 10 times, hear the bleep, select the remote vehicle on my phone, hit the password. Error 2021. Tried it a few times both at home and away from home in case my wifi was interfering.

Nibbo

Re: cannot connect phone app

Tue Feb 25, 2020 1:40 am

Official MMC answer if you haven't already seen it (not a great deal of help):

https://www.mitsubishi-motors.com/en/pr ... rcode.html

As a programmer I think it is very lazy to give generic error messages; the link lists 6 possibilities so why not 6 error codes with 6 different specific error message!!! Rant over...

sipaldi

Tue Feb 25, 2020 2:00 am

Thanks for that,
What would "vehicle out of range" mean? Does it have to be near my home wifi?

I did notice there were other phones previously connected to my vehicle so I deleted them all except one as I was not sure what it was. Maybe I should delete that too and try again with just my own phone showing on the screen?

Nibbo

Tue Feb 25, 2020 4:46 am

sipaldi wrote:I did notice there were other phones previously connected to my vehicle so I deleted them
I don't think you can actually see which phones are registered with the Wi-Fi, just the Bluetooth ones in MMCS as far as I know.

When you do the key fob thing how many beeps do you hear?
It should be one long beep to confirm that the system is in the registration mode and then short beeps to count the connected devices; NB: it only supports 2 devices.
If you want to remove all previously registered devices you do the shut doors, go into accessory mode and then do the key fob on/off thing 20 times.

I think 'Vehicle out of range' just means you are not close enough to the Wi-Fi device in the car which is in one of the rear pillars.
Should be OK if you are in the drivers seat !

sipaldi