Are Outlander PHEV shocks the same as other models?

Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum

Help Support Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sunder

I've reached 130,000km with the shocks. They're not terrible yet (I am a gentle driver and the roads here are pretty good) but am noticing a bit more undampened rebound lately.

Trying to get information on compatibility is next to impossible. For exact same part numbers some sites say it is compatible, others say its not.

Does anyone know if we can just use the same parts as our petrol/diesel counterparts? I have a 2014.5 model if that helps.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Hi.

I've been researching rear shocks for my 2020 PHEV because I don't like the OEM ones. They are okay ride and the roll is well controlled, but pitching back to front is terrible - mine kicks like a mule going slowly over speed bumps and others. Only 34,000klms.

So I've researched a large number of makes, and everything is the same between models except the PHEV spring base is about 20mm lower down the length of the shock to allow for the longer spring of a PHEV - presumably because they are heavier.
*This is all based on my 2020 ZL model.

I've had no luck finding anyone with a PHEV replacement. They are only available for standard ICE models it seems with the higher placed spring holder.
Seems we can only go OEM or wait until the after-market segment starts supplying as the models age.

If anyone has a solution I'd love to hear it.

SS2115 said:
Hi.

I've been researching rear shocks for my 2020 PHEV because I don't like the OEM ones. They are okay ride and the roll is well controlled, but pitching back to front is terrible - mine kicks like a mule going slowly over speed bumps and others. Only 34,000klms.
You are looking for a harder or softer ones to control the pitching you don't like?