OSRAM LED DRL

Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum

Help Support Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tun

To all experts out there, is this something that we can and replace it as if as those supplied by the original parts from Mitsubishi?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Newest-9W-Round-Osram-Offroad-LED-Fog-Light-12V-24V-DRL-Daytime-Running-Light-/251786521795?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item3a9fa56cc3

Thanks.

I'm no expert, but as far as I can tell, it is only a single light source, whereas our Phev's have two - one fog lamp and one DRL.
The wiring connectors are certainly different as well.

Even if the mounting centres are the same and you joined the wires somehow, you would have to lose the use of the fog lamps, which turn off power to the DRL bulb when turned on.

Stvtech said:
I'm no expert, but as far as I can tell, it is only a single light source, whereas our Phev's have two - one fog lamp and one DRL.

Even if the mounting centres are the same and you joined the wires somehow, you would have to lose the use of the fog lamps, which turn off power to the DRL bulb when turned on.

See.. this is why I posted it here before I do any purchase ;)

Thanks! Does that means that if I wired it to the fog lamp I can technically use this as a fog lamp and leave it on all the time?

tun said:
Does that means that if I wired it to the fog lamp I can technically use this as a fog lamp and leave it on all the time?
I'm afraid not, because the fog lamps will only work when the dipped beam is turned on, so unless you want to drive everywhere with headlamps on, that will not be an option.

You could wire it to the DRL connector, and not ever use the fog light switch. What I do not know, is if the Canbus will detect that there is no bulb in the foglamp circuit and start moaning at you!