Installing 12V Supply Socket for Camper Trailer

Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum

Help Support Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tesa04

Hi,

I’m a newbie to this forum and to PHEV motoring. I am awaiting delivery of an Eclipse Cross PHEV in Sydney that I am assured is the same as 2020 model Outlander except for the body shape.

I will be using the vehicle to tow our 750kg camper trailer that is fitted with a 100AH lithium ion deep cycle battery. The camper is also fitted with a Projecta IDC25L DC/Solar battery charger and a Projecta IC2500L 240v battery charger. The IDC25L is setup to accept a 12v supply from the tow vehicle.

I am have difficulty finding definitive advice and information on how to wire the 12v supply plug in the PHEV. I am wondering if someone could share their experience of wiring an Outlander/Eclipse Cross to supply a deep cycle battery in a camper trailer/caravan?

I understand the ICE does not have an alternator and that the 12v starter/accessory battery is charged from the traction battery via a DC to DC charger. One of my concerns is that the IDC25L will draw up to 25A and I wonder if this might exceed the capacity of the vehicle’s DC to DC charger? The IDC25L requires a wire to be connected to the vehicle’s ignition circuit if the vehicle has a smart alternator. In a phone call to Projecta I was told that the ignition wire must be connected in the case of the Mitsubishi PHEV’s.

Any advice will be gratefully received.

Hi Tesa04,

There are a few good threads on here about trailer wiring connections. This thread covers the location of the connector for the OEM trailer plug and has some photos. This shows how it all goes together. I think that wiring is all protected by a 20A fuse though, so you probably can't connect your charger to the trailer wiring that is supplied through the tow hitch connector.