Shocking cost of charging!

Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum

Help Support Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tipper

I've just spotted a fast charge point in Looe Cornwall UK that costs an astronomical £0.30/kW for an AC/DC fast charge plus car parking. It also has a penalty charge of £10 for overstaying your welcome in the car park space!

Is this typical for fast charge points? (I am new to all this PHEV stuff but am a bit perplexed by these charges.) it must be more economical to use petrol.

I found a fast charge point in Seahouses on the NE coast that was both free and so was the first hour in the coucil car park 20+ miles for free each day was worth the 4 mile detour each day.....plus the fish & chips were good whilst the car had its charge. I stay clear of charged charge points, but no doubt the day will come....

Except for the UK where free fast chargers can be found fast charging is horribly overpriced everywhere, even normal charging on the Continent is getting prohibitively expensive. The best way is to use your own charge point at home and at work.

Not entirely true - we just did a day trip to Calais from the UK. At the Le Shuttle terminal on the way back they had fast chargers for PHEV like vehicles and Superchargers for Teslas - all were FREE!

To the original poster all the motorway chargers in the UK are Free if you get a free swipe card from Ecotricity (just apply on line)

CJ

Yes - the same for the chargers on the ferry from Hook to Harwich and at Schiphol airport ( and many garden centers etc.) but unfortunately that is not the norm.

CJ1045 said:
Not entirely true - we just did a day trip to Calais from the UK. At the Le Shuttle terminal on the way back they had fast chargers for PHEV like vehicles and Superchargers for Teslas - all were FREE!