Thinking about getting a Phev - is it for me? some questions

Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum

Help Support Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eggtastico

Thinking about getting a PHEV as business vehicle, and was wondering if it was for me.

I am an IT contractor, that cover several sites around South Wales

Just to give you an idea of my useage, it would be approx 300 miles a week, at the moment, I will only have the facility to charge at home, unless I stop of at a 'free' charge area on my lunch break or something.....
Weekly break down would approx be the following :-
3x times a week 18 miles - approx 14 miles motorway or 25 miles all motorway.
2x a week 70 miles nearly all motorway/dual carriageway. (sometimes a combination of the 2 - ie I visit both sites)
1x every 2-3 weeks, I may do a trip to West Wales, approx 140 mile trip. 90 miles on Motorway/Dual Carriageway, the rest on A Roads.

Also have my personal usage, which is mostly running around locally.

I guess if I can get 20 miles a day on electric, that is about 1/3rd of my travel covered. More than 1/2 if I can get a 2nd charge on the longer trips.

Current setup - I get about 45 MPG in a 1.6 diesel on a £75 fill - approx 17p per mile on fuel?

Anyone know what kind of saving I could expect?
How much it costs to charge the car at home?
that kind of thing....

Hi and welcome
I can't answer all your questions, but here are a few things:

25 miles+ all on motorway will inevitably use some petrol. I think you need to look at the local running around mileage and see if it will be enough to offset the out of ev range work driving you'll be doing.

Cost to charge at home -from empty to full I reckon is generally just under 10kwh, so cost obviously depends on your tariff - for me between £1 to £1.15.